WordPress Learning Project Recap

Seems strange to do a final blog post on a learning project that will probably continue long after the course, but I guess that’s the beauty of authentic, real world learning. It doesn’t just stop when the classes finish. Jane will still have an interest in playing the guitar and Melody the ukulele. Harprit will still be a good cook and Heidi and Tanya will still be finding their inner zen. Not to mention all the other great learning projects that have occurred this term. My project was not particularly creative or flashy. I started out wanting to learn something to improve my fitness by learning squash. I managed one blog post (https://gallowayjourney.wordpress.com/2015/01/25/learning-project/) before my basement filled with water, life came crashing all around me, and I realized that I had more ‘pressing’ issues to learn.

In blog #2 I decided then to focus my time on a skill that was valuable and necessary for the course. Blogging. I had some experience with a Weebly class account but only used basic features so vowed to learn more about blogging and specifically create a WordPress blog. (https://gallowayjourney.wordpress.com/2015/01/25/learning-project-re-visited-colds-and-floods/)

Blog post #3 detailed the skills learned in starting up a blog. And just to be clear, I started at zero knowledge of WordPress. I was excited to have choices of themes and colours and spent hours picking and choosing my basic design. https://gallowayjourney.wordpress.com/2015/01/29/wordpress-work-in-progress/

Blog post #4 was entitled “Change is difficult” and was basically a vent about how difficult I found navigating the WordPress site. Interestingly, now when I read my words I’m laughing at all the things that I found hard to do. https://gallowayjourney.wordpress.com/2015/02/01/change-is-difficult/

Blog #5 detailed my participation in an online MOOC that I found entitled “WordPress Bootcamp”. It was a good, basic introduction to the platform and allowed me to interact with other people who were also learning. https://gallowayjourney.wordpress.com/2015/02/09/wordpress-bootcamp/

Blog #6 I presented my thoughts on blogging in a Haiku deck format. Matching visuals to my thoughts helped me to think about the emotions and images related to blogging. https://gallowayjourney.files.wordpress.com/2015/02/learning-project-update.pdf

Blog #7 was created using emaze http://app.emaze.com/@AOWRTIQT/wordpress-learning-project-update-copy1#3. I enjoyed playing with the new format to demonstrate the new additions I had made to my blog, but looking back it seems a bit over the top. The emerging flowers, while beautiful, take away from my message. Not sure I would use this tool again.

Blog #8 https://gallowayjourney.wordpress.com/2015/03/01/finding-a-better-fit-learning-project-update-8/ detailed my continuing frustration with WP and my search for other blogging platforms.

This last blog was intended to be a Dear John style letter to WP that would go along these lines.

Dear WordPress,

This is just not going to work. It’s not you, it’s me, well maybe a combination of both. We simply aren’t matched and want different things out of life. I don’t understand your jokes or the coded way in which you communicate. You seem detached from me and often go out of your way to make simple things difficult. I am tired of being frustrated, of having you block my wishes and desires by being obtuse. Why does everything have to be a battle?

But the interesting thing is, that as I have been using WP for a number of other blogs, I have now become more familiar with the platform. Looking back at my previous blogs shows me that the little things that I found so difficult have now become easy. I have gotten used to the idiosyncracies and hidden content of WordPress. I am now faced with the difficult choice of continuing this blog or reverting back to Weebly. Initially Weebly would have won hands down, but now I’m not so sure. I may have to keep my Dear John letter after all. WordPress, despite all its faults, is starting to grow on me…..

Leave a Reply

